FAQ Breakdown: Thoughts?

With the recent FAQ release here is a few of the changes and some opinion on them.

  1. Q: Can I apply an upgrade to an enemy fighter?

A: No.

Opinion: Finally some sense! Why on earth would you want to upgrade an enemy fighter with the exception of (not even) a handful of unique scenarios based around a couple of cards.

2: Q. If something happens during my Fighter’s Charge action that means it cannot be resolved (e.g. my opponent makes a reaction that moves the target out of range of my fighter’s Attack action), does my fighter still count as having made a Charge action?

A. Yes

Opinion: good ruling really as the action was still declared and should still stand, despite being unable to complete said action.

3: Q: How do ploys that grant extra actions work?

A: Some ploy cards allow you to make extra actions with your ghters. They can do so in two ways: either they specify an action or actions (e.g. Ready for Action – ‘Reaction: Play this after you upgrade a fighter in an action phase. They can make a Move or Attack action.’) or they allow a fighter an unspecified action (e.g. Time Trap – ‘Choose a fighter. They can take an action…’). When using cards like this, remember that actions and activations are different things, and while a Charge action forbids further activations of a ghter in that round, a ploy card that grants an extra action to a fighter is not an activation of that ghter.

When a ploy specifies an action, or actions, a fighter can make those actions even if the rules of the game would normally not allow it. In the case of Ready for Action, a fighter could make a Move action even if they had already made a Move or Charge action in the current round.

When a ploy allows a fighter to make an action, but does not specify an action, the fighter cannot make an action that would not normally be allowed by the rules of the game. In the case of Time Trap, if the fighter chosen had already made a Move action in the round, they could not make a Move or Charge action, as the rules forbid a fighter from making two Move actions in a round (and a Charge action always includes a Move action). However, if the fighter had made a Charge action earlier in the round, this ploy would still allow them to make an Attack action or go on Guard, for example.

Opinion: Finally! We may see an end to “How does time trap actually work?” Posts in Facebook groups! (Reset the clock!). Basically breaks down to individual cards: can make multiples of the same action if the card is specific about the type of action….

4: Q: Some objectives refer to ‘all fighters’, or ‘all surviving fighters’, or ‘all objectives’ or similar, but also specify a number in brackets, like ‘(at least have)’. Can I score these objectives if I only meet the part of the condition in brackets, or do I have to meet the whole condition?

A: You have to meet the whole condition. For example, you can only score March of the Dead if all of your surviving ghters made a Move action in the preceding action phase, and if you also have at least have surviving fighters.

Opinion: who asks these questions? That’s like saying “I have a fighter adjacent to Objective 4 therefore I can score objective 4……”

5: Q: When I use Expendable to remove my fighter from the battlefield, does my opponent gain a glory point?

A: No. However, from that point on the fighter is considered in every way to be out of action (e.g. for the purposes of enumerating fighters out of action and for determining which fighters can be returned to the battlefield with Skritch’s Action).

Opinion: common sense verdict really!

6: Q: How do I resolve the pushes when I play Earthquake?

A: Choose a direction, then push every fighter in that direction simultaneously. Any fighters that cannot be pushed in that direction (because of a blocked hex, another fighter that cannot be pushed, the edge of the battlefield or a rule that prevents them being pushed) are not pushed. As pushing every fighter at once is a little tricky to do with more than a few fighters on the battlefield, it is fine to push the fighters one at a time, so long as you bear in mind that all of the pushes happen simultaneously as far as the game is concerned (so, for example, a reaction to Earthquake – or any push made because of Earthquake – can only be made after all of the pushes from Earthquake have been resolved).

Opinion: Adepticon ruling finally put to bed, which, was not a very good ruling in my opinion. I always felt the RAI was everything to happen at once.

7: Q: What happens when I use Shadeglass Sword with the ploy Mighty Swing, targeting more than one enemy fighter?

A: You make the Attack action against each fighter in turn, in the order you choose. After the first of these Attack actions to be successful, you discard the upgrade, which means you cannot resolve the Attack action against any remaining targets.

Opinion: I’m disappointed with this as I was a great combo, but was taking advantage of poor wording on the part of Mighty Swing so couldn’t have imagined them allowing it to stay!

What future questions are you hoping to see covered in an FAQ?

Personally, I am hoping to see Cruel Taunt clarified. It should only be able to be used on an Inspired Fighter but it seems there are a number of players who believe differently! Only the FAQ can clear this up however!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: