Gathering a Community FAQ : Updated

We will keep this article updated with questions about rules and cards, and update them with agreed upon or official answers from Games Workshop

Ever Advancing– do you push Garrek on Hex or push the attacker back one hex?

Time Trap – does this allow a fighter to take an action out of sequence, or does it give an extra activation later in the turn

The Necromancer Commands– when attacking multiple opponents, does this allow the attacker to repeat both attacks or only against the attack that failed, or if the first attack succeeds can the card play at all?

Rule – When attacking multiple targets – when is the pushback resolved? if a hit is made on the first target, is he pushed back straight away taking support away from the second fighter?

Charge actions: When a charge action is complete, can a fighter be utilised by a ploy card that would let him attack again?

Dangerous terrain –  if a fighter in moves with only 1wound remaining and they die because of dangerous terrain’s effect, does the opponent get a glory point?

if a fighter pushes an opponents fighter with only one wound left, and they die because of dangerous terrain’s effect, do I get the glory point?

Rule –  does making an out of activation attack (via a ploy card) count as an activation?

Rule– When a member of the Sepulchral guard is taken out of action and is returned to the battlefield does he remove only wounds or wounds and activation tokens ( move/charge) Update : clarification on this from Dave Sanders @ GW The tokens are reminders only – if a fighter returns to the battlefield having made a Move or Charge action earlier in the round, they are still considered to have done so (so a returned fighter that had made a Charge action couldn’t be activated, for example).

Blood Rain – if the next fighter has hammers for successes, does this mean that when the card is played only swords are successful?

Flawless Strategy – It mentions ‘in this phase’ and is scored in end phase. Unlike let’s say ‘A Worthy skull’ it does not mention ‘preceding action phase’. Is it only scored if you scored two other end phase objectives, or does also count those immediately stored in the preceding action, despite it not being mentioned and the ‘this phase’ is refered to the whole action and end phase ?

Cursed artifact – Does this inspire an Ork?

2 thoughts on “Gathering a Community FAQ : Updated

  • November 9, 2017 at 3:22 pm
    Permalink

    Not sure most of these need an FAQ, just careful reading.

    Ever Advancing – do you push Garrek on Hex or push the attacker back one hex?

    Garrek moves, as only fighter in main sentence. (ignore brackets)

    Time Trap – does this allow a fighter to take an action out of sequence, or does it give an extra activation later in the turn

    Make an activation out of sequence.

    The Necromancer Commands – when attacking multiple opponents, does this allow the attacker to repeat both attacks or only against the attack that failed, or if the first attack succeeds can the card play at all?

    When attacking multiple opponents you make a series of attack actions against each one. Any one, and only one, of these attack actions could have this card play on it.

    Rule – When attacking multiple targets – when is the pushback resolved? if a hit is made on the first target, is he pushed back straight away taking support away from the second fighter?

    Again, Multiple attacking is just a series of single attack actions. You completely resolve one before moving to next. (So order of resolution counts)

    Charge actions: When a charge action is complete, can a fighter be utilized by a ploy card that would let him attack again?

    OK this one is less clear cut. I feel it should be yes they can, but think by rules it will be no.

    Dangerous terrain – if a fighter in moves with only 1 wound remaining and they die because of dangerous terrain’s effect, does the opponent get a glory point?

    Yes, you killed them by playing the card, same as Final Blow

    If a fighter pushes an opponents fighter with only one wound left, and they die because of dangerous terrain’s effect, do I get the glory point?

    No, card owner does as they did wound.

    Rule – does making an out of activation attack (via a ploy card) count as an activation?

    No.

    Rule – When a member of the Sepulchral guard is taken out of action and is returned to the battlefield does he remove only wounds or wounds and activation tokens ( move/charge)

    All tokens are removed from board when they are. However the rules state that you can not move/charge again this round if you already have, so even if token is removed from the model the rule still applies. Guard stance would be lost though.

    Blood Rain – if the next fighter has hammers for successes, does this mean that when the card is played only swords are successful?

    Yes, it’s the point of the card.

    Flawless Strategy – It mentions ‘in this phase’ and is scored in end phase. Unlike let’s say ‘A Worthy skull’ it does not mention ‘preceding action phase’. Is it only scored if you scored two other end phase objectives, or does also count those immediately stored in the preceding action, despite it not being mentioned and the ‘this phase’ is referred to the whole action and end phase ?

    End Phase, as written. So does not include immediate score cards.

    Cursed artifact – Does this inspire an Ork?

    No, as it reduces wounds value by 1 and does not give a wound counter.

    Reply
  • November 9, 2017 at 7:13 pm
    Permalink

    I think the point is that these questions are being asked again and again (and again and…) and if we can get an official answer/clarification from GW it will save a lot of time and arguments.
    And yes, while some like Blood Rain are obvious to you (and me) it’s not that clear if multiple people are asking the same question.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: